Board Members

The City of Springfield Retirement Board is comprised of five board members: Two represent the City government, two are elected from and by the active and retired members of the system and a fifth member, selected by the four and who shall not be a member of the system.

Robert P. Moynihan, Chairman

Elected Member since 2007

Retired Police Lieutenant.  Holds a Master of Science in Criminal Justice and a Associates in computer programming.

Executive Board of Police Supervisors Association from 1995 to 2005.



Patrick S. Burns

Ex-Officio Member since 2012

City of Springfield employee since 1993.  Appointed City Comptroller in 2009.

Direct Line: 413-787-6150

Haskell O. Kennedy, Jr., Ed.D

Appointed Member since 2009

Holds a Masters of Public Administration from American International College and a Doctorate of Education from UMASS, Amherst.Serves on the Board of Directors for the YMCA, Martin Luther King Jr. Community Center, and recently served as the Vice-Chairman of the Board of Commissioners for the Springfield Police Department.  A member of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc., and the National Forum for Black Public Administrators.  

Karl J. Schmaelzle

5th Member since 2021

Bachelor of Science Degree, Westfield State College, Springfield Technical Community College, Two Associate Degrees.

Retired from Agawam Fire Department.  Past Union President, spent 20 years on the Massachusetts State Hazardous Material Team.

Retired Master Sergeant:  Massachusetts Air National Guard.

Hampden County Regional Retirement Board:  Elected Member's Representative since 2002.

Massachusetts Retirees, Vice President, Western District:  MACRS Executive Board Member

Thomas M. Scanlon

Elected Member since 2011

Retired Police Detective, employed by the Springfield Police Department since 1985.

President IBPO #364 (2003-2009)